Back To Top
POET Scholarships
POET Scholarships2


In 2016, the Brian Perry Charitable Trust (BPCT) introduced the POET Head Start Scholarships, to support students attending POET partner schools who wished to go on to further study at a Waikato tertiary establishment. 


In 2019 five scholarships were awarded. Pictured are recipients Chantelle Malcolm – Te Kauwhata College, Taylor Beadle – Huntly College, Teina Eriepa – Ngaruawahia High School, Caleb Cutmore – Raglan Area School (whose mum came along to receive his award as he was away surfing for NZ).   Absent on the day was Renee Hurliman from Forest View Tokoroa.


BPCT trustees Tiffiney Perry and Marlene Julian have the pleasure of selecting the successful scholarship recipients each year.


“The BPCT Head Start scholarships have given us the opportunity to support students from POET partner schools as they transition to tertiary study.  We love to support these amazing young people who choose to stay and study in the Waikato”.

-Tiffiney Perry, BPCT Trustee


In addition to the scholarships, each year POET presents a POET Award for Excellent participation and leadership in outdoor education. Along with the POET award trophy our loyal supporter Kiwi Camping donate a prize to each recipient, this year an awesome Kea tent. The award is presented at each school’s academic prizegiving and is highlight of our year.


Pictured is 2019 POET award winner Ngaruawahia High School’s Charlie Ryan pictured with POET Chair Marlene Julian.